Dunwoody College of Technology is approved by a number of regulatory agencies both at the institutional and programmatic levels. Institutional approvals are required for Dunwoody to conduct business. All education offered in the United States and the financial aid to support students in pursuing their education is regulated by the Department of Education (DOE). The function of accrediting and monitoring institutions of higher education both in their compliance with federal financial aid standards and in the quality of the education delivered, the DOE delegates to approved regional and national accrediting bodies. Dunwoody is accredited by the DOE approved regional accreditor, The Higher Learning Commission. Dunwoody is located in the State of Minnesota and as such must demonstrate compliance with all Minnesota laws and standards both in regard to state financial aid and quality of the education being delivered in the state. As such, Dunwoody is registered with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education. Programmatic approvals are carried out by specialized accreditation bodies associated with a specific area of expertise.  Dunwoody programs in seeking and attaining programmatic accreditation demonstrate compliance with the standards of excellence within the given profession. 

The U.S. Department of Education (DOE)

The United States Department of Education’s mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. Public Law 96-88 outlines four major activities for which the Department is responsible:

  1. Establishes policies relating to federal financial aid for education; administers distribution of those funds and monitors their use
  2. Collects data and oversees research on American Schools and disseminates this information to Congress, educators and the general public
  3. Identifies the major issues and problems in education and focuses national attention on them
  4. Enforces federal statutes prohibiting discrimination in programs and activities receiving federal funds and ensures equal access to education for every individual

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Dunwoody College of Technology is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The HLC was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The HLC is recognized as an accreditor by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council of Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) and is required to conduct programmatic approval for dissemination of  financial aid. All Dunwoody programs obtain approval by the Higher Learning Commission for financial aid eligibility. The Higher Learning Commission’s telephone number is (800) 621-7440; the website is

Minnesota Office of Higher Education (MOHE)

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education is a cabinet-level state agency providing students with financial aid programs and information to help them gain access to postsecondary education. The agency serves as the state's clearinghouse for data, research and analysis on postsecondary enrollment, financial aid, finance and trends. Through collaboration with systems and institutions, the agency assists in the development of the state's education technology infrastructure and library programs. The mission of MOHE is to advance the promise of higher education to all Minnesotans and to provide the critical information that guides higher education decisions. Within MOHE is the Office of School Licensure & Registration. The role of this office is to protect consumers by ensuring that private and out-of-state institutions of higher learning register with the state and meet state standards to operate legally in the Minnesota.  

Dunwoody College of Technology is registered with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions.

Minnesota Office of Higher Education
Address: 1450 Energy Park Dr #350, St Paul, MN 55108
Phone: 651.642.0567

Dunwoody College of Technology is registered as a private, non-profit college offering programs in Minnesota on three levels: certificate, associate degree and bachelor’s degree. This registration is renewed annually. Programmatic review and approval is also required of and provided by MOHE for state and federal financial aid.

Dunwoody’s financial aid involvement with MOHE includes the following:

  • Minnesota State Grant Program
  • Minnesota Child Care Program
  • Minnesota GI Bill Scholarship Program
  • Minnesota Indian Scholarship Program
  • Minnesota Work-Study Program
  • Minnesota Self Loan Program

Specialized Accreditations Include:


ABET is a non-profit accrediting body for college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering, engineering technology.

ASE Education Foundation

The ASE Education Foundation is a non-profit organization that examines the structure and resources of training programs and evaluates them against nationally-accepted standards of quality.

Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA)

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) is a non-profit accrediting organization for interior design education programs at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

HVAC Excellence

HVAC Excellence is an organization established to improve the technical competency of the HVACR industry. This is accomplished through the validation of the technical education programs. 

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT)

The Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) is the agency recognized for the accreditation programs in radiography, radiation, therapy, magnetic resonance and medical dosimetry.

National Institute for Metalworking Skills (NIMS)

The National Institute for Metalworking Skills (NIMS) is metalworking trade association that sets skills standards for the industry, certifies individual skills against the standards, and accredits training programs that meet NIMS standards.

National architecture accrediting board (NAAB)

The National Architecture Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredits professional degrees in architecture offered by institutions accredited by a U.S. regional accrediting agency.